Monday, November 5, 2012

She & the Sun to release album

Pop folk singer-songwriter duo, She & The Sun have announced the release of their self-titled debut album on January 15, 2013. “Bad Lover”, the first single from their highly anticipated debut highlights the twosome’s songwriting and musical prowess

She & The Sun is Andy Stack and Melissa Ahern, siblings from Western New York. Growing up in a musical family with their mother, a travelling nurse who also spent her time playing Irish traditional music, the two started collaborating creatively almost by accident after discovering that Melissa’s vocal and songwriting strength complemented her brother’s instrumental and production skills in an extraordinary way. After raising funds to create their first album together, the duo started a two year recording journey with the assistance of Aaron Comess on drums (Spin Doctors, Joan Osborne) and Jay Walter Hawkes on trombone (Norah Jones), amongst others. The result is a collection of songs, influenced by personal experiences, ranging from rock to pop & folk which has ultimately earned them a residency at New York’s Rockwood Music Hall.

No comments: