Friday, January 11, 2013

Nataly Dawn to release album and tour

California-based singer/songwriter Nataly Dawn of the duo Pomplamoosepremieres her video for the song “Please Don’t Scream.” The track is from her forthcoming full-length Nonesuch Records debut album, How I Knew Her, out onFebruary 12, 2013. The album is now available for pre-order at Dawn’s website,, and at The exclusive How I Knew Herbundles include the album on vinyl or CD, an instant download of the song “Please Don’t Scream,” access to an exclusive online show by Dawn and her band on, an autographed print, and a download of the complete album (available on release day). Also, available today is the iTunes-exclusive Please Don’t Scream EP featuring the title track, “Leslie” and “Araceli.” Fans who buy this EP can use the iTunes “Complete My Album” feature to purchase the full record on release day. Dawn will embark on a West Coast eight-city opening slot for Ben Folds Five. Please see dates below.

How I Knew Her—comprising 12 autobiographical, introspective songs by Dawn—was produced by her longtime partner Jack Conte. The album was recorded at Prairie Sun Studios in Cotati, CA with a group of accomplished musicians including Ryan Lerman (Ben Folds, A Fine Frenzy) on electric guitar, mandolin, banjo, and acoustic guitar; David Piltch (k.d. lang, Bill Frisell, Bonnie Raitt) on upright bass; Louis Cole (Louis and Genevieve, Pomplamoose); and Matt Chamberlain (Brad Mehldau, Fiona Apple, Tori Amos, Jon Brion) on drums. The studio, where many of Dawn’s favorite Tom Waits albums were recorded, enabled the musicians to play one room as a full band. Oz Fritz engineered the album with Conte; it was then mixed by Mike Mogis and mastered by Bob Ludwig. The recording sessions were filmed and will periodically be released as companion videos including videos for “HYPERLINK "Leslie” and "Araceli,” which are viewable on Dawn’s YouTube channel.

The daughter of missionaries, Dawn spent much of her childhood in Europe where she attended Lycées Français in France and Belgium before returning to the U.S. to study art and French literature at Stanford University. It was there that she met Conte and formed Pomplamoose, eventually performing, recording, and editing songs and videos entirely on their own in their Northern California home. Their first upload to YouTube was an original collaboration, “Hail Mary,” which was featured on the YouTube homepage. In 2010 the duo began releasing creative covers of pop songs such as Beyoncé’s “Single Ladies” and Lady Gaga’s “Telephone,” which grew their fanbase even further. Pomplamoose played 20 live dates in 2011 to sold-out audiences across the U.S. Before coming to Nonesuch, Dawn raised more than $100,000 via Kickstarter to make How I Knew Her.
In 2010 Pomplamoose released its first compilation of original songs with lyrics by Dawn entitled Pomplamoose VideoSongs, as well as an album of covers titledTribute to Famous People. That same year, the duo also released The Holiday EP, in conjunction with, as an incentive for a charity book drive, raising more than $130,000 in books for the Richmond, CA school system.

Pomplamoose’s music can also be heard in a series of national television spots for Hyundai and Toyota. Nataly Dawn’s previous solo album, 2009’s Her Earlier Stuff, was a compilation of 12 songs that she put up on YouTube over the previous two years.


* with Ben Folds Five
January 23 /// The Ogden /// Denver, CO *
January 25 /// The Pearl /// Las Vegas, NV *
January 26 /// Wiltern Theatre /// Los Angeles, CA *
January 27 /// House of Blues /// San Diego, CA *
January 29 /// House of Blues /// Anaheim, CA *
January 31 /// The Warfield /// San Francisco, CA *
February 2 /// Harrah’s Tahoe /// Reno, NV *
February 4 /// Showbox at The Market /// Seattle, WA*

How I Knew Her Track Listing
1. Araceli
2. Leslie
3. How I Knew Her
4. Back to the Barracks
5. Long Running Joke
6. Counting Down
7. Caroline
8. Please Don't Scream
9. Still a Believer
10. Even Steven
11. Why Did You Marry
12. I Just Wanted You to Get Old

No comments: