Thursday, June 27, 2013

Portnoy, Shehan, MacAlpine and Sherinian Live in Tokyo to be released

On September 3, 2013, Eagle Rock Entertainment will release Live In Tokyo by Portnoy Sheehan MacAlpine Sherinian on DVD, Blu-ray, 2CD and digital audio and video formats [Pre-book Order Date August 18, MSRP $19.98 Blu-ray, $14.98 DVD, $16.98 2CD]. 
Live In Tokyo was filmed/recorded on November 14, 2012 at Zepp Tokyo. This 95-minute concert is the first release of material from thePSMS supergroup, and it showcases a wide range of instrumental performances from each of the members’ careers & collaborations (moved up from a later paragraph). Wider fanbases of Dream Theater, Mr. Big and Black Country Communion will definitely stand up and take notice.
Drummer Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, The Winery Dogs, Transatlantic), bassist Billy Sheehan (Talas, Mr. Big, David Lee Roth), guitarist Tony MacAlpine & keyboardist Derek Sherinian (Black Country Communion, Dream Theater, Billy Idol) brought their collective strengths to Japan this past fall. The result was a 16-track deep cornucopia of the member’s individual highlights. The group unleashed a fierce storm of sonic musicianship on songs such as “Shy Boy” from Sheehan’s band Talas, MacAlpine’s “The Stranger”,  Sherinian’s “Apocalypse 1470 B.C.” and Dream Theater’s “A Change Of Seasons: The Crimson Sunrise.” The DVD and Blu-ray also offer an exclusive peek at this production with a behind-the-scenes featurette.
Live In Tokyo is a true tour de force.
1) A Change Of Seasons: I. The Crimson Sunrise  
2) Acid Rain  
3) The Stranger         
4) Stratus  
5) Apocalypse 1470 B.C.  
6) Tony MacAlpine Guitar Solo  
7) Been Here Before  
8) Birds Of Prey (Billy’s Boogie) / Billy Sheehan Bass Solo  
9) The Farandole  
10) The Pump  
11) Mike Portnoy Drum Intro  
12) Nightmare City  
13) Hell’s Kitchen  
14) Derek Sherinian Keyboard Solo  
15) Lines In The Sand  
16) Shy Boy

No comments: