Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Dirty Heads expanded debut CD now available

Executive Music Group has released the expanded, special edition CD of the Dirty Heads debut album “Any Port in a Storm” April 27th and is available now at all major retailers. The 22-track set includes the top 5 single “Lay Me Down,” featuring Rome of Sublime with Rome.

“Lay Me Down,” recently described as a “solid contender for the song of the summer” in Billboard and featured on Rolling Stone’s “Hot List,” is steadily climbing the charts and continues to be one of the most added and requested songs at dozens of radio stations across the country.

Named one of the “Best New Bands of 2010” by Rolling Stone, the Dirty Heads will continue on the road as the opening act throughout the rest of the Sublime with Rome spring theatre tour in support. The band is also slated for their national television debut on Jimmy Kimmel Live May 13th.

Executive produced by the Grammy Award-winning Rob Cavallo (Green Day, Kid Rock, Paramore), produced by Stan Frazier (Sugar Ray), Steve Fox, and mixed by engineer Mario Caldato Jr. (Beastie Boys), band members Jared Watson (vox), Dustin Bushnell (guitars/vox), Jon Olazabal (percussion), Matt Ochoa (drums) and David Foral (bass) put in long hours polishing the material on “Any Port in a Storm” while developing their style to perfect a signature blend of acoustic infused hip-hop and classic reggae; creating the ideal soundtrack to an upbeat, sun-soaked Southern California. Rooted in the Orange County community of Huntington Beach, the Dirty Heads emerged onto the Southern California music scene with a unique sound inspired by the rock and reggae sounds of Bob Marley, Sublime, 311 and The Beastie Boys.

“Any Port in a Storm” features some of the final recordings of the late music industry icon Billy Preston. Frequently referred to as “The Fifth Beatle,” Preston played on three tracks, including “Stand Tall,” “Chelsea,” and “Driftin’.” Additional special guests on the album include drummer Josh Freese (A Perfect Circle, NIN, The Vandals) and veteran session percussionist Alex Acuna, whose A-list resume includes such diverse work as Elvis Presley and Weather Report to Jackson Browne, Peter Gabriel and Beck.

The band’s music has been attracting attention throughout the world of entertainment. They have been featured on Fuel TV and their songs have been included in the movie and soundtrack for “Surf’s Up” (Sony), the television drama “Shark” starring James Woods (CBS) and actor Matthew McConaughey selected the band’s music to be in his film, “Surfer Dude.” The Dirty Heads music can also be heard in Tony Hawk’s “Downhill Jam” video game (Activision), in-flight radio’s “The Hit Factory” channel on all major airlines, as well as several other music compilations and surf/skate videos. Recently, the band has been featured in campaigns for Etnies Jeans, Vestal Watches, Hurley, Skullcandy and more.

Visit the band online at: www.dirtyheads.com and www.myspace.com/dirtyheads

View the video for “Lay Me Down” on YouTube:

No comments: