Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Rusty Truck to release new album

On June 18Crosseyed Music will release the second full-length album Kicker Town from Rusty Truck. Kicker Town was recorded in Los Angeles at The Village Studios, and produced by Andres Levin and Mike Viola. Frontman Mark Seliger states, “I was pretty adamant about the sound of this record being country. Country and Western to be exact.” When describing Rusty Truck’s sound, Jakob Dylan uses the phrase “lonesome music.” Seliger agrees saying, “It’s about memory, despair, self-discovery and love gone wrong. A perfect world for country songwriting.” For the songs on Kicker Town, Seliger took unfinished material he had written over the previous four years and sat down with his band mates in August 2012 to finish them. Together they turned the bits and pieces into 11 complete songs. Seliger is a storyteller, and considers Kicker Town to be a country opera.
Rusty Truck formed after Rami Jaffee (The Wallflowers, The Foo Fighters) invited Seliger to play at a jam show that he’d hosted. He believed in Seliger and rounded up the musicians who would become Rusty Truck. The band includes drummer Joey Peters (Grant Lee Buffalo), guitarist Michael Duff (Chalk Farm), and vocalist Kristin Mooney. Other roving members include pedal steel/guitarist Eric Heywood (Sun Volt), Andy Gibson (Hank Williams III), and bassist Sheldon Gomerg (Ryan Adams and Warren Zevon). One night, after playing The Mint in Los Angeles, Lenny Kravitz approached Seliger, wanting to record a song. He went into the studio with Kravitz in Miami and wrote “Luck’s Changing Lanes,” which would become the title track of their debut album. Rusty Truck have toured with Willie Nelson, Kenny Wayne Shepard and The Wallflowers, and have performed on the “Don Imus Show” and “Jimmy Kimmel Live.

No comments: