Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Nektar to release cover album

Legendary progressive rock band Nektar is releasing its first-ever covers record, A SPOONFUL OF TIME via Cleopatra Records on November 27.  The core members of Nektar are joined by special musical guests that help re-envision fourteen classic rock songs.

From the lush and moving take on Pink Floyd’s “Wish You Were Here” featuring Edgar Froese of Tangerine Dream to the folky, transportive “Can’t Find My Way Home” that highlights Steve Howe of Yes, Derek Sherinian of Dream Theater/Black Country Communion and Mel Collins King Crimson, A SPOONFUL OF TIME artfully yet faithfully honors songs from more than thirty years of music.  A dutifully trippy “2000 Light Years From Home” (originally by The Rolling Stones) showcases the masterful violin of Hawkwind’s Simon House while his bandmate Nik Turner pairs with Deep Purple’s Ian Paice for a funk-infused “For The Love Of Money” (The O’Jays). 

Nektar is Roye Albrighton on vocals and guitar, Ron Howden on Drums, and Klaus Henatsch on keyboards.  A SPOONFUL OF TIME was produced and engineered by Jurgen Engler from German industrial music pioneers Die Krupps and Chris Lietz at Atom H Studio in Austin TX. 

Nektar is also featured in the August 14 Cleopatra DVD release, SPACE ROCK INVASION, a live show taped in Los Angeles.

A SPOONFUL OF TIME will be available on iTunes,, and at your favorite record store.  The CD is $16.98 and the 2-album vinyl set is $34.98.

1. Sirius (originally by Alan Parsons Project) featuring Michael Pinnella of Symphony X
2. Spirit of the Radio (originally by Rush) featuring Mark Kelly of Marillion
3. Fly Like An Eagle (originally by Steve Miller Band) featuring Geoff Downes of Asia,Yes and Joel
    Vandroogenbroek of Brainticket
4. Wish You Were Here (originally by Pink Floyd) featuring Edgar Froese of Tangerine Dream
5. For The Love Of Money (originally by The O’Jays) featuring Ian Paice (Deep Purple) and
    Nik Turner  (Hawkwind)
6. Can’t Find My Way Home (originally by Blind Faith) featuring Steve Howe of Yes, Derek
    Sherinian of Dream Theater/Black Country Communion and Mel Collins King Crimson
7. 2000 Light Years From Home (originally by The Rolling Stones) featuring Simon House of
8. Riders On The Storm (originally by The Doors) featuring Billy Sheehan of Mr. Big and Rod
    Argent of The Zombies/Argent
9. Blinded By The Light (originally by Manfred Mann) featuring Joakim Svalberg of Opeth and
    Ginger Baker of Cream
10. Out Of The Blue (originally by Roxy Music) featuring Simon House of Hawkwind
11.  Old Man (originally by Neil Young) featuring David Cross of King Crimson
12.  Dream Weaver (originally by Gary Wright) featuring Jerry Goodman of Mahavishnu
13.  I’m Not In Love (originally by 10CC) featuring Rick Wakeman of Yes and Joel
        Vandroogenbroek of Brainticket
14.  Africa (originally by Toto) featuring Bobby Kimball of Toto and Patrick Moraz  of The Moody

No comments: