Thursday, March 20, 2008

Bridges and Powerlines to release new effort in April

Writing the songs for their debut full-length, Bridges and Powerlines began to notice a recurring theme: the male struggle for maturity despite the persistence of boyhood impulses. The stories that populate Ghost Types elaborate this idea and include a diverse collection of conflicted protagonists: a depression-era film director, a Bangladeshi cab driver, the captain of a doomed steam ship, and a host of others.

The words came easily; shaping this lyrical bent around their own brand of slightly quirky indie-rock was more difficult. The resulting record is a collection of upbeat, literate, often dramatic, sometimes complex songs.

The members of Bridges and Powerlines met in New York City in late 2005. Geographically diverse in their upbringing, they had spent their formative years glued to nineties college radio. Drawing heavily from a set of musical heroes that included Guided by Voices and the wistful Elephant Six Collective, they worked to set themselves apart in the crowded NYC music scene.

A debut EP followed shortly, bearing many stylistic references to the post-punk resurgence that gripped New York. Meeting with critical acclaim, the energetic record was described as “an exhilarating racket,” (Six Eyes) and “a taught example of why [Bridges and Powerlines] should be added to your list of bands to watch.” (

The success of their EP attracted producer Chris Zane, who had helmed recent breakout records by Les Savy Fav, White Rabbits and Asobi Seksu. The band spent much of 2007 writing and recording while further developing their sound. The completed 11-song record is equal parts nineties-styled indie-rock, psych-influenced harmony and analog synth intricacy.

Their ideas committed to tape, the band closed 2007 with a successful East Coast tour, a sold-out show at NYC’s Mercury Lounge with Margot and the Nuclear So and So’s and a showcase at the CMJ Music Marathon. They will release Ghost Types on their own imprint Citybird Records in April of 2008.

Ghost Types Track Listing:
Release Date: April 22nd, 2008
01. Uncalibrated
02. Floods and Fields
03. The Golden Age
04. The Thieves, They Are Everywhere
05. Half A Cent
06. Middle Child
07. The Ghost Types
08. New Mexico
09. The Great Fire
10. The Maine
11. This Last Equation

Bridges and Powerlines Live:
03/21 New York, NY @ Lit Lounge (CD Release Show)

On The Web:

No comments: