Friday, January 30, 2009

Don't Be a Stranger to release effort in April

Don’t be a Stranger was formed in 2002, in a tiny village in rural Värmland, a Swedish region of dark woods and weird dialects. Liv Widell (singer/songwriter), Louise Weibull (Fidget) and her sister Christina Weibull (Honey is Cool) met by coincidence and started making music together.

Liv had a God given voice and abundant musical sketches in her head and hands. Louise and Christina had flow, melodies, inspiration, instruments and a brand new portable digital recording studio. About a year later, as the lack of rhythm became too painful, the girls were joined by Johan Forsman (Fidget). Loads of songs were born without much of a direction or outspoken desired result. They all had completely different musical back- grounds, preferences and preconceptions of what to do and how.

In 2005, the band moved to Stockholm, to a “goth” basement with neon lights and skeletons hanging from the roof. Acollective depression sets in and marks the music. They felt an urging need for joy and love and anything but that dark basement! They ask Mattias Albinsson (Ebon Tale) to join them on the bass. When summer came at last, they decided to put their music on tape.

Don’t be a Stranger entered Studio Cobra where the band’s last but not least member is found in the control room of the dark cave like studio: Konie Ehrencrona (Konie and the Club, Hipwhips) completes the setting of the group with his spirits and his guitars.

Cheap Lullaby Records will release Don’t Be A Strangers Frutti Di Mare in April 09. The band will be featured on Showtimes "United States of Tara" on Feb 1st and will be touring the US this spring.

Track Listing:
01) Perfect Problem
02) Too Late
03) Love
04) Mon-chi-chi
05) Lonely Together
06) No Surprise
07) We’ve Been Waiting Far Too Long
08) Homerun
09) You Leave Alone
10) Yellow Moon
11) Bending

No comments: