Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Crushed Stars to release album

Crushed Stars
Convalescing In Braille
(Simulacra Records, 11/16/2010)

Track Listing:
01. Black Umbrellas
02. Sutures
03. Technicolor
04. Spark
05. A Day Without You
06. Frost On Wires
07. Fall
08. Beatrice in the Other World
09. Ocean

About Crushed Stars

Convalescing in Braille, the latest album by Portland, Oregon’s Crushed Stars (aka Todd Gautreau) will be released November 16th, 2010.

Following a 2005 South By Southwest appearance, Crushed Stars signed to Portland’s Arena Rock Records for its Obsolescence record, returning upon the album’s release in 2006 to play both South By Southwest and CMJ.

2008 saw the follow-up album Gossamer Days released on the band’s own Simulacra Records label. Produced by Stuart Sikes (Cat Power, Modest Mouse, White Stripes), the album became a press favorite with glowing reviews from Under The Radar, Pitchfork, Stereogum and many more.

Earlier this year, the band scored with a cover of Nena’s “99 Red Balloons” which went to #1 at KDVS in Sacramento and landed in heavy rotation at Dallas’s KKXT. Influential stations such as New Jersey’s WFMU, KUSF (San Francisco), and KCRW (Los Angeles) are just a few of others that picked up on Crushed Stars.

The new album Convalescing In Braille was recorded with John Congleton (Antony and The Johnsons, Clinic, The Walkmen, St. Vincent) with Gautreau handling most of the instruments accompanied by drumming from Jeff Ryan (Sarah Jaffe, Pleasant Grove, St. Vincent).

No comments: