Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Beat Generatuib 10th Anniversary Collection album to be released

BBE Celebrates Hip-Hop history with an essential new release…

The Beat Generation 10th Anniversary Collection:
Mixed and Compiled by DJ Spinna & Mr Thing

This compilation features the debut solo albums from respected Hip-Hop and modern R&B producers J Dilla, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Larry Gold, DJ Spinna and Will.i.am; albums from legends such as Pete Rock and Marley Marl; leftfield heavyweights King Britt and Madlib and a session of unreleased poetry from American literary giants - Allen Ginsberg, Peter Orlovsky and Greg Corso

The Beat Generation 10th Anniversary Collection
Mixed and Compiled by DJ Spinna & Mr Thing
Label: BBE
Release Date: March 29, 2011
CD / Double Vinyl / Digital

Over the course of nine albums in the 2000s - for their producer-led Beat Generation Series - BBE adopted an unusual stance towards their artists…“Do what you want.” The label’s enormously liberal approach was the antithesis of stiff major record label A&R practices, their forward thinking rewarded handsomely by a truly diverse set of albums from some of the world’s most capable hip-hop architects. Among those picked to contribute were Golden Era greats (Marley Marl; Jazzy Jeff); acclaimed DJ/producers whose work habitually blurred genre lines (King Britt; DJ Spinna; Madlib); and those whose regular gigs didn’t afford them the creative freedom they craved (Will.i.am).

No-one made better use of the brief than Jay Dee, who’s inspired Welcome 2 Detroit showed that despite all the techno and soul that seeped into and out of the Motor City there was still room to be influenced by the Carpenters and Sergio Mendes. Pete Rock, the hip-hop producer’s producer, filled his rapturously received PeteStrumentals disc with classic sample-led tracks packed with drama and finesse. DJ Jazzy Jeff’s The Magnificent celebrated the slew of Philly talent at his A Touch Of Jazz studios, Jill Scott guesting on an exalted Roy Ayers cover in finale. Then there was veteran cellist and arranger Larry Gold, on hiatus from adding strings to hits like Brandy and Monica’s ‘The Boy Is Mine’, who called upon fellow seasoned pros McFadden and Whitehead and Bunny Sigler for his piece of the puzzle.

To commemorate the 10th Anniversary of this cult series BBE enlisted the services of two of its stalwart associates and compilers to create a Double Mix CD featuring the best and most popular tracks from the nine albums recorded for the series. DJ Spinna - (Beat Generation contributor and compiler of several compilations on BBE ) and DJ Mr Thing - former Scratch Pervert and DMC winner. For Digital customers they will be able to download a bonus mix by a Chris Read - UK Mixtape Maestro/ BBC 1 Xtra.

It’s all here…an epic compilation…press play and give it up for the Beat Generation.

BBE releases The Beat Generation 10th Anniversary Collection on March 29, 2011

The Beat Generation 10th Anniversary Collection
Mixed and Compiled by DJ Spinna & Mr Thing

(Note this list is for the digital version)

01. Madlib The Beat Konducta – Stop
02. Pete Rock - Nothin' Lesser (featuring The UN)
03. Madlib The Beat Konducta - What It Do (featuring Talib Kweli)
04. Marley Marl - Big Faces
05. Dj Jazzy Jeff - My Peoples (featuring Raheem Devaughn)
06. Pete Rock - Pete's Jazz
07. Jay Dee - African Rhythms
08. Marley Marl - What Ruling Means (featuring Kevin Brown & Grap Luva)
09. DJ Spinna - Drive (featuring Shadowman)
10. Madlib The Beat Konducta - Go! (featuring Guilty Simpson)
11. Dj Jazzy Jeff - Are you ready? (featuring Slum Village)
12. will.i.am - Lay Me Down (featuring Terry Dexter)
13. DJ Jazzy Jeff - Rock Wit U (featuring Erro)
14. Dj Spinna - Surely
15. Pete Rock - Give It To Y'all (featuring Roc Marciano & Trife)
16. Jay Dee - Beej-N-Dem Pt. 2 (featuring Beej)
17. Madlib The Beat Konducta - Blow The Horns On 'Em (featuring Guilty Simpson)
18. Marley Marl - Live Ova Beats
19. Dj Jazzy Jeff - We Live In Philly (featuring Jill Scott)
20. DJ Spinna - All Up In it (feat. Eric Krasno & Neal Evans)
21. DJ Jazzy Jeff - A Charmed Life (featuring J Live)
22. will.i.am - Money (featuring Huck Fynn, Oezlem, The Horn Dogs)
23. Marley Marl - Hummin' (featuring Roy Ayers and Edwin Birdsong)
24. Jay Dee - Rico Suave Bossa Nova
25. King Britt - Spaces (featuring Quasimoto)
26. will.i.am - Lost Change In D Minor
27. King Britt - Transcend (featuring Bahamadia)
28. Dj Spinna - Idols (featuring Vinia Mojica)
29. Larry Gold - No Stoppin' (featuring Black Thought, Gene McFadden & John Whitehead)
30. Dj Spinna - Love is Sold (feat Abdul Shylon)
31. Jay Dee - Big Booty Express
32. DJ Spinna – Rock (Unplugged)
33. King Britt – Cobbs Creek (featuring De La Soul)
34. Pete Rock – To My Advantage (featuring Nature)
35. Larry Gold – All That You Are (featuring Kindred The Family Soul)
36. DJ Spinna – Galactic Soul

37. Various Artists - The Beat Generation Continuous Mix by DJ Spinna
38. Various Artists - The Beat Generation Continuous Mix by Mr Thing
39. Various Artists - The Beat Generation Continuous Mix by Chris Read

No comments: