Thursday, November 15, 2012

Aimee Bobruk to release album

Aimee Bobruk to release new Brian Beattie-produced (Daniel Johnston, Okkervil River) album Jan. 29th, 2013.

Eclectic Austin-based songwriter’s new single “Two of a Kind” available now via Austin’s NPR affiliate KUT.

“Two of a Kind” is the first single from the upcoming album /ba.’brook/ by Aimee Bobruk


“The track itself was produced to sound like an old recording brought back to life,” Austin’s Aimee Bobruk says of “Two of a Kind,” the first single from her upcoming new album /ba.’brook/ (a phonetic spelling of her last name), scheduled for release on January 29th, 2013. Bobruk recently discussed the album with Austin’s NPRaffiliate KUT on the “Texas Music Matters” program.

“It’s kind of like what happened with Elvis’s ‘A Little Less Conversation,” Bobrukcontinues. “My original demo vocal was very shaky and lo-fi, and I loved the fragile texture of it, but I told my producer that there was no way I could ever reproduce it. So, he started arranging the song into a duo that would consist of my old vocal side-by-side with the new track and we ultimately produced a song that morphs back and forth, between old and new, with one voice from two different times.”

On the upcoming new album, Bobruk chose to collaborate with producer/bassistBrian Beattie and drummer Dony Wynn. Beattie hails from Austin’s avant-garde punk rock band Glass Eye and has produced albums for Daniel Johnston, Okkervil River, Bill Callahan and Shearwater Wynn has worked with such artists asRobert Plant and Robert Palmer and is known for building his drum kits out of everything from banana peels to filing cabinets.

“Two of a Kind” is the first single and video from Aimee Bobruk’s upcoming new album /ba.’brook/, scheduled for release on January 29th, 2013. 

Aimee Bobruk Live

11/14 Austin, TX @ Driskill Hotel
11/17 Austin, TX @ Whip In
12/08 Austin, TX @ The Scoot Inn
01/25 Huntsville, TX @ Crazywood Record Release Show, 730PM
01/26 Austin, TX @ Continental Club Record Release Show, 830PM
02/16 New York, NY @ Rockwood Music Hall Record Release Show, 6PM


Aimee Bobruk
(S/R – Jan. 29th, 2013)

Track Listing:

01. A Day in the Life
02. Omanishko
03. Two of a Kind
04. Do You Remember
05. In Your Own Language
06. Perfect Circumstance
07. Is There Nothing
08. Secret
09. Trigger Finger
10. Self-Sabotage
11. Desert Bloom
12. Goodbyee


Aimee Bobruk Links

No comments: