Thursday, November 8, 2012

Glee, John Travolta, Olivia Newton-John and more on new holiday album

If you’re “Hopelessly Devoted” to the hit TV show Glee, you’re in luck as it will pay tribute to Grease in a 2-part story on November 8th and 15th.  Earlier this year, the original Danny and Sandy—John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John—reunited to record a very special album, This Christmas, available November 13th.

Grease has been hailed as one of the greatest movies of the century.  “You’re the One That I Want,” is the number one best-selling duet in pop music history and the Grease album is the biggest movie musical of all time. It’s only fitting that the music of Grease is recognized for its importance in musical history and showcased by the talented cast of Glee.

Fans can now hear a new original song titled “I Think You Might Like It,” composed by John Farrar who wrote the original “You’re the One That I Want” included on This Christmas. The album also features other powerhouse artists singing with John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John including Barbra Streisand (“I’ll Be Home for Christmas”), Tony Bennett and the Count Basie Orchestra (“Winter Wonderland”), James Taylor (“Deck the Halls”), Chick Corea (“This Christmas”), Kenny G (“Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree”), and Cliff Richard (“Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”).

Travolta and Newton-John have pledged their proceeds from the album equally to their charities: the Jett Travolta Foundation and the Olivia Newton-John Cancer and Wellness Centre in Melbourne, Australia. 

The Glee episode is sure to garner some new Grease fans, and This Christmas is sure to be a favorite for “Gleeks” and “Greaks” alike.

This Christmas Track Listing:

1. Baby It’s Cold Outside
2. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree (featuring Kenny G)
3. I’ll Be Home for Christmas (featuring Barbra Streisand)
4. This Christmas (featuring Chick Corea)
5. Silent Night
6. The Christmas Waltz
7. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (featuring Cliff Richard)
8. Winter Wonderland (featuring Tony Bennett and The Count Basie Orchestra)
9. White Christmas
10. I Think You Might Like It
11. The Christmas Song
12. Deck the Halls (featuring James Taylor)
13. Auld Lang Syne/Christmas Time Is Here (Medley)

No comments: