Monday, January 28, 2013

Throncraft Cobra to perform at Brewfest in LA Jan. 30

Click on image to download 300 DPI JPG
Hello All!
In case you missed the record release party from LA's own Thorcraft Cobra (, here is a last minute show for you to check out. Details below but - did we also mention it's a craft beer fest at The Satellite as well this Wed? 
Come see why the LA Weekly's Falling James said, "Thorcraft Cobra are an unabashed power-pop band who've perfected the seemingly lost art of combining big, radio-friendly hooks with big, classic-rock guitars." Need more? What about Kevin Bronson's Buzz Bands LA who touts their, "….big hooks, sharp lyrics and arm’s-length nods to their British Invasion and Paisley Underground influences."? Or what about eMusic's Andrew Parks who said, "Indebted to decades long gone, it (Thorcraft) prides hooks above all else, from the double-tracked choruses of “Count Me Out” to the teeth-gritting grooves of “Obsession."
Hope to see you there!
Join us for NEAR MESS CRAFT BEER FEST on Wed Jan 30 at the Satellite!
Featured Brewery: Great Divide Brewing Co. 
Presented by Near Mess Records and Moheak Radio. 
$8 cover or FREE with RSVP here. 
Join us for tastings, flights and $3 beers from Great Divide Brewery while supplies last - Titan IPA, Colette Farmhouse Ale, Orabelle Belgian Style Triple, Yeti Stout
Featuring performances by: 
We'll have tastings, flights and $3 beers from Great Divide Brewing Co. before 10pm, $4 after 10pm while supplies last. 
Here are the beers: Titan IPA, Colette Farmhouse Ale, Orabelle Belgian Style Triple, Yeti Stout
Here are times: 
Wed Jan 30 $8 or free with RSVP
Moheak Radio presents Near Mess Craft Beer Fest with performances by:
11 - LA Font
10 - Hindu Pirates
9 - Thorcraft Cobra
Featured Brewery: Great Divide Brewing Company
Los Angeles-based rockin’ pop band Thorcraft Cobra  ( announced today that they have confirmed January 8, 2013 as the release date for their debut full-length release,Count It In (Plaza Bowl Records and Tapes) distributed via Red Eye Distribution in the US and Outside in Canada.
“Count It In” has been making a name for itself at radio through the politically charged first single “Count Me Out”, which was released digitally on Oct 30 and which charted nationally in the Top 10 on the KKBB Specialty Show chart.  The video for “Count Me Out” can be seen at
This eclectic album of radio friendly riffs, ballads and dance ready tunes is the brainchild of Billy Zimmer and Tammy Glover. Part Canadian cold (Zimmer) and California cool (Glover), Count It In features fourteen tracks with help from friends including Ron and Russell Mael from Sparks, Steve McDonald (Redd Kross), Mahsa Zargaran (Big Black Delta, Omniflux, Sabrosa Purr) and Will Love (Sabrosa Purr) including:
1.    Count Me Out
2.    Another Day
3.    Party Clock
4.    True Love
5.    Dark Willows, Bright Flowers
6.    Black Swan (It’s All Inside of You)
7.    Bemused, Bored and Deranged
8.    Obsession
9.    Oh Melody
10.  I’m Not Sorry
11.  Forget The Photograph
12.  I’m Putting Your Toys Away
13.  You’ll Get Nothing
14.  Party Clock (Radio Edit)
Thorcraft Cobra began in 2010 when Tammy and Billy were label mates at the now defunct, yet influential record label Permanent Press Recordings. Having hatched plans to form a duo and record together, their prolonged gestation took a back seat while Tammy toured the world and recorded with Sparks. Thorcraft Cobra (named after a long since expired Canadian amplifier) made their eponymous debut release via EP.  It reached # 13 in America on The Top 50 Artists at Specialty programming on Alternative Radio.

No comments: