Friday, January 28, 2011

Marillion to release 2 CD set and double DVD

Considered one of the founding bands of Neo-Progressive rock, Marillion has perfected the art of unique, thought-provoking music. Eagle Rock Entertainment, through earMusic, will showcase their phenomenal talent on Live From Cadogan Hall – a 2CD set and double DVD to be released on March 29. [Pre-book order date March 4, MSRP $19.98 for DVD, $17.98 for 2CD]

This fantastic live show, filmed in high definition, was recorded on the final night of their 2009 “Less Is More” tour, at London’s prestigious Cadogan Hall. The show is divided into two sets.

The first is dedicated to 2009’s Less Is More album, in which they deconstructed and reinvented chosen songs from their back catalogue into alternative acoustic versions. In the second set, they revisit ten other classic Marillion tracks, reinvented in the same spirit.

Redesigning the chord sequences and arrangements of their original songs, Marillion created lush, minimalist-yet-powerful adaptations, accentuated by soaring melodies and haunting rhythms. This experimental approach expanded the band’s instrumentation, including dulcimer, autoharp, celeste, glockenspiel, xylophone, and pipe organ, revealing the musical flexibility and depth of this extraordinary rock 5-piece. Marillion, composed of lead singer Steve Hogarth, guitarist Steve Rothery, keyboardist Mark Kelly, bassist Pete Trewavas and drummer Ian Mosley, has enjoyed a rich, musical history, with over 15 studio albums and over 20 UK-Top 40 hits. Throughout their 25-year career, the band has consistently dodged categorization by crafting distinct, evocative music, which has solidified an extremely loyal fanbase. Live From Cadogan Hall stands as a testament of the incredible aural magic Marillion continues to create.

Click here to view a trailer of Live From Cadogan Hall:

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
1.) Go!
2.) Interior Lulu
3.) Out Of This World
4.) Wrapped Up In Time
5.) The Space
6.) Hard As Love
7.) Quartz
8.) If My Heart Were A Ball
9.) It’s Not Your Fault
10.) Memory of Water
11.) This Is The 21st Century

Disc 2:
1.) No One Can
2.) Beautiful
3.) This Train Is My Life
4.) You’re Gone
5.) 80 Days
6.) Gazpacho
7.) The Answering Machine
8.) Estonia
9.) Easter
10.) Three Minute Boy

No comments: