Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Vin Du Select Qualitite artists release three more albums

Announcing the release of the next three albums from Vin Du Select Qualitite -
the acoustic guitar LP series add editions 004-006 featuring solo recordings from:

Mattew Mullane, a young player from small town Ohio, Thurston Moore creating solo, untreated 12-string compositions in tribute to Jack Rose and Allen Karpinski, previously of indie faves Six Parts Seven with releases on Suicide Squeeze and Troubleman.

What is Vin Du Select Qualitite?
VDSQ (Vin Du Select Qualitite) is an acoustic guitar LP series curated by Steve Lowenthal of Swingset Magazine and Plastic Records. The first three releases included the debut recording from Joshua Blatchley of Mountain Home, Mark McGuire, who plays guitar in Cleveland drone hero’s Emeralds, and session-man, indie rock legend Chris Brokaw, who played in bands such as Codeine, Come, The New Year, Pullman, and the New Wave Bandits and many others. This next series of releases features the work of Matthew Mullane, Thurston Moore and Allen Karpinski. The series is released on high quality LP with Letterpress sleeves, each with a picture of the guitar used to record the record. Track-by-track liner notes are included.

These releases are not just for collectors, this music should be heard by everyone who has ever wondered what musical visionaries can produce when creating through an acoustic guitar medium.

Listen to previews of the artists' work on an exclusive mixtape created by the VDSQ curator and premiered on Impose Magazine and find out more about the next series of releases.


Matthew Mullane's recording came to VDSQ as an unsolicited demo and was a revelation in its intricate beauty and unique phrasings. Hailing from small town Ohio, this young player encapsulated everything exciting about modern composition for acoustic guitar. This release was performed live in one take. No overdubs.

Matthew Mullane - "A Second Choir"

Thurston Moore recorded his 12 String Meditations for Jack Rose as solo, untreated, 12-string compositions in tribute to one of the greats. An album of instrumentals in requiem.

Thurston Moore - "Triple Moine"

Allen Karpinski offers four string minimal sympphonies for the grey side of America. Each note perfectly placed for maximum solitude, Karpinski offers a starkly melodic album of nighttime instrumentals.

Allen Karpinski - "Red Echo"

More on the VDSQ series from curator Steve Lowenthal
"The idea behind VDSQ was really to do a label that was a nod to the great guitar-oriented labels like Takoma and Transatlantic but focusing on contemporary artists rather than reissues," said Lowenthal. “I tried to curate a series that transcended genre and really pull together some exceptional musicians from different geographic and musical scenes. The goal is to hopefully bridge the gap between traditional and contemporary styles of music all within the context of acoustic guitar music. The process of each edition of the series is such that it really lets the personality of the player come to the forefront so each record really reflects the essence of the personality of the players."

Reaction has been overwhelmingly positive to this unique series of acoustic guitar solo albums.


No comments: