Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards March 14 in Burbank

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle has announced its nominations and special awards for excellence in Los Angeles and Orange County theatre for the year 2010 (Dec. 1, 2009 – Nov. 30, 2010). The 42nd Annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards ceremony will take place on Monday, March 14 at Burbank’s Colony Theatre, thanks to the generous donation of the Colony’s management. The theatre is located at 555 N. Third Street, in Burbank. All event tickets are $40 and can be reserved in advance.

Details will be posted at www.ladramacriticscircle.com, and reservations can be made by directly e-mailing crixawards2011@gmail.com.

The doors will open at 6:30 p.m. for a catered reception (with no-host bar), the show commencing at 7:30 p.m.

The scheduled hosts are L.A. theatre favorites the Troubadour Theatre Company, whose season in 2010 has also been recognized with three nominations for their production A Wither’s Tale and the presentation to Troubadour artistic director Matt Walker of this year’s Joel Hirschhorn Award for outstanding achievement in musical theatre. Also presenting awards with members of the Circle will be a host of the L.A. theatre community’s most exciting talents – details to be released at a later date.

Awards will be presented in eighteen categories, honoring excellence in theatre over the past year. Four award recipients were named by acclamation: Lin-Manuel Miranda for his music and lyrics for the national tour of In The Heights; Chris Bell for his special effects for the Grand Guignolers’ Absinthe, Opium & Magic; and Matthew W. Mungle and Waldo Warshaw for their special effects and prosthetic effects in the Mark Taper Forum’s The Lieutenant Of Inishmore. Finally, seven special awards will also be presented, thanks to the sponsorship of organizations to whom the LADCC is most grateful.

No comments: