Wednesday, June 27, 2012

'The Prog Collective' album to be released

On August 14th, 2012,, Purple Pyramid (a subsidiary of Cleopatra Records) will release THE PROG COLLECTIVE, a massive and unique project that features the biggest names in the progressive music genre, including five current and former member of Yes.

The producer and guiding force of THE PROG COLLECTIVE is Billy Sherwood. A multi-talented musician, he has played in Yes (and several of its reconfigurations), Yoso, Toto, Circa, World Trade and others.

The luminaries he enlisted to perform the original songs on THE PROG COLLECTIVE include Chris Squire (Yes), Rick Wakeman (Yes), Alan Parsons, John Wetton (Asia), Tony Levin (King Crimson), Richard Page (Mr. Mister), Geoff Downs (Yes/Asia), John Wesley (Porcupine Tree), and Colin Moulding (XTC).

On “The Technical Divide,” Squire, Parsons, and David Sancious (Bruce Springsteen, Stanley Clarke, Peter Gabriel) are featured. Said Sherwood in an interview with in May, it ended up sounding like “the Beach Boys meets Pink Floyd – with a Yes twist, of course.”

No comments: