Wednesday, April 24, 2013

NK to release album

Nothing To Be Gained Here, the debut album from Long Island, NY’s NK (a new band that features members of  Envy On The Coast, Dillinger Escape Plan) will be released on May 21 via Triple Crown Records.

The LP takes the listener through the multiple personalities of the band, creating a powerful trip for the listener. The album's peaks and valleys are strung together by the monstrous and soulful rhythm section, comprised of Michael Sadis on bass and Billy Rymer on drums (Dillinger Escape Plan), as well as Ryan Hunter's (Envy on the Coast) visceral and uninhibited lyrics and vocal style. On "Confessional", "Shoulder Gorilla", "Kings" and "Set a Fire", the band shows their affinity for heavy music, with Rymer giving the listener a bit of his signature drumming style he's become known for, but also embracing a more open, deeper style of playing we haven't heard on his prior work. Abrasive guitars and fuzzed out bass tones match Rymer's style of playing, while Hunter's vocal style is a fusion of rhythmic aggression and a unique approach to melody. On "Vacation Days" and "Memo", the band turns down the gain and embraces a warmer, down-tempo, soulful side. With Mike Sapone (Brand New, Taking Back Sunday, O’ Brother) and Hunter taking on production duties, Nothing To Be Gained Here, is an extremely rhythmic, lyrically dense, and dynamic debut full length.

Pre-orders for the album have launched on the Triple Crown website. The LP will also be available in 3 limited edition vinyl color ways (orange, blue and clear) starting in mid-June.

NK will be announcing additional tour dates shortly.

No comments: