Thursday, April 25, 2013

Pretty & Nice to release album and tour

Experimental indie pop quartet PRETTY & NICE will release their third full-length Golden Rules for Golden People on April 30, 2013 via Rory Records (Max Bemis’ imprint on Equal Vision Records). “We put a lot of positive energy into this batch of songs," explains vocalist/guitarist Holden Lewis. “Most of them started on an acoustic guitar out on the front steps of the studio/house. We took a lot of inspiration from being outside in the sun and from changes in our own lives and in the way we approach each day. The past couple years have been difficult, but transformative and we grew a lot individually and together. The songs reflect those changes.”

Golden Rules for Golden People was self-produced by Jeremy Mendicino (vocals, guitar, gadjets) and Lewis. It was recorded onto tape and engineered by Mendicino at his Boston-based studio Esthudio, mixed by Mendicino and Lewis at Tiny Telephone in San Francisco, and mastered by Ryan Smith (Battles, Nada Surf, Paul Simon) at Sterling Sound. “We felt freer than ever when recording the songs and that opened them up a lot,” adds Lewis. “Shimmering”, “shining”, “soaring” were all words used to describe what we wanted to hear. Our communication in the studio was better than ever and it became a deeper collaborative adventure than on past recordings.” From the jangly guitars on “Q_Q” to the dancy “Money Music” to the upbeat “Yonkers”, the album pushes limits with energy and experimentation.Brooklyn Vegan recently premiered the first single “Q_Q”, which can be heard here:

Pretty & Nice have shared tours and stages
 with bands such as Built To Spill, The Get Up Kids, The Thermals, Miniature Tigers, among many others. Golden Rules for Golden People will be released on April 30th. More tour dates are in the pipeline and will be announced shortly.

May 01 Great Scott – Allston, MAMay 03 Toquet Hall – Westport, CT May 11 Cameo Gallery – Brooklyn, NY

Pretty & Nice is Holden Lewis (vocals, guitar, keys),Jeremy Mendicino (vocals, guitar, gadgets), and Roger Lussier (bass, keys, horn).

No comments: