Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Greg Friedman to release new album

San Diego, CA-based musician Greg Friedman is gearing up to release his new album Can’t Talk Now on June 4, 2013.  The surreal album artwork was designed by the late Storm Thorgerson (Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, etc.)  Early national praise for the album includes Guitar Player which noted in its June issue that “The bouncy, palm-muted clean tones that kick off the opener, “Melancholy Melody,” draw you right in and Friedman’s catchy vocal lines keep you there, setting the stage for the power pop that follows.  Great guitar moments abound…”
Friedman is an exceptional multi-media artist as evidenced by his creative video shorts for tracks from the album, which can be viewed at http://www.gregfriedmanmusic.com/teasers/.  As if composing a new album and videos to accompany it weren’t enough, Friedman has challenged himself through his A Song A Month Club in which he composes an entire song in the space of a month and offers it free via subscription or on his website at http://www.gregfriedmanmusic.com/a-song-a-month/.
The man can also be known as Tenacious G for his courage in approaching Storm Thorgerson to design album artwork for Can’t Talk Now.  In his own words, “All my life I've loved to stare at the album artwork while listening to records. I looked through some of my favorite album covers and was blown away when I discovered they were all done BY THE SAME GUY! So I tracked down Storm and asked him if he'd work on mine. He wrote me back right away and said that he's rarely in the States but happened to be in Los Angeles right now and here I was in San Diego and it must be serendipity. So I hopped in the car, drove up to meet him, and the rest is history. “
Joining Greg on Can’t Talk Now’s engaging blend of quirky indie pop and songs about cherished pets (“Pancake”) are the talented Jane Lui (keyboards and backing vocals), Chris Prescott on drums (Pinback, Rocket From The Crypt, No Knife) and Christopher Hoffee (bass and owner CHAOS Recorders). The album was mastered by the noted Greg Calbi (Bob Dylan, Paul Simon, Ramones).

No comments: