Monday, January 25, 2010

Grammys to air Sunday

The 52nd Annual GRAMMY® Awards Pre-Telecast ceremony will take place on Sunday, Jan. 31 from 1 – 4 p.m. PT at the Los Angeles Convention Center and will be streamed live internationally on beginning at 1 p.m. PT.

Well-attended by nominees and industry VIPs, current GRAMMY nominees Tia Carrere and Kurt Elling will host the star-studded ceremony, which will feature performances by nominees including Montreal-based duo Beast (vocalist Betty Bonifassi and drummer/composer Jean-Phi Goncalves); jazz vocalist Elling; contemporary R&B singer Lalah Hathaway; classical guitarist Sharon Isbin; and R&B singer Charlie Wilson as well as a special bluegrass musical performance by nine-time GRAMMY-winning singer Ray Benson, country instrumentalist Alison Brown, two-time GRAMMY winner Jim Lauderdale, singer/songwriter Michael Martin Murphey, three-time GRAMMY winner Bryan Sutton and singer/fiddle player Gabe Witcher.

Presenting GRAMMY Awards in 99 categories will be current nominees Colbie Caillat, Mick Fleetwood, LMFAO, and Tonex as well as percussionist Sheila E., four-time GRAMMY winner Roberta Flack, and five-time GRAMMY-winning producer/songwriter and Recording Academy Chair Emeritus Jimmy Jam. The live stream of the Pre-Telecast will remain on as video on demand for 30 days following the event. For GRAMMY coverage, updates and breaking news, please visit The Recording Academy®'s social networks on Facebook, MySpace, and Twitter: , , and

Hosts Carrere and Elling each have one nomination: Carrere for Best Hawaiian Music Album for He Nani (with Daniel Ho), and Elling for Best Jazz Vocal Album for Dedicated To You: Kurt Elling Sings The Music Of Coltrane And Hartman.

Performer Wilson is up for two awards and performers Beast, Benson, Brown, Hathaway, Isbin, Lauderdale, Murphey and Sutton each have one nod: Wilson for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance for "There Goes My Baby" and Best R&B Album for Uncle Charlie; Beast for Best Short Form Music Video for "Mr. Hurricane"; Benson for Best Americana Album for Willie And The Wheel (Willie Nelson & Asleep At The Wheel); Brown for Best Country Instrumental Performance for "Under The (Five) Wire"; Hathaway for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance for "That Was Then"; Isbin for Best Instrumental Soloist Performance (Without Orchestra) for "Journey To The New World"; Lauderdale for Best Bluegrass Album for Could We Get Any Closer?; Murphey for Best Bluegrass Album for Buckaroo Blue Grass; and Sutton for Best Bluegrass Album for Almost Live.

Presenter Caillat has four nods and presenters Fleetwood, LMFAO, and Tonex each have one nomination: Caillat for Album Of The Year (featured artist on Taylor Swift's Fearless), Best Pop Vocal Album for Breakthrough, and two nods in Best Pop Vocal Collaboration With Vocals (one with Jason Mraz for "Lucky" and one with Taylor Swift for "Breathe"); Fleetwood for Best Traditional Blues Album with the

Mick Fleetwood Blues Band Featuring Rick Vito for Blue Again; LMFAO for Best Electronic/Dance Album for Party Rock; and Tonex for Best Urban/Alternative Performance for "Blend."

Established in 1957, The Recording Academy is an organization of musicians, producers, engineers and recording professionals that is dedicated to improving the cultural condition and quality of life for music and its makers. Internationally known for the GRAMMY Awards — the preeminent peer-recognized award for musical excellence and the most credible brand in music — The Recording Academy is responsible for groundbreaking professional development, cultural enrichment, advocacy, education and human services programs.

The Academy continues to focus on its mission of recognizing musical excellence, advocating for the well-being of music makers and ensuring music remains an indelible part of our culture.

For more information about The Academy, please visit

For breaking news and exclusive content, join the organization's social networks on Facebook ( ), MySpace ( ), Twitter ( ), and YouTube ( ).

No comments: