Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Red Wanting Blue takes on 'Mr. Grinch'

Red Wanting Blue covers “You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch” from the 1966 cartoon “How the Grinch Stole Christmas!”


“Audition” is the first single from Red Wanting Blue’s upcoming album “From The Vanishing Point”


Columbus, Ohio’s Red Wanting Blue has recorded a cover version of “You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch” for the holidays. Produced by Jamie Candiloro (REM, Ryan Adams) and recorded at the band’s El Rancho Relaxo studio on November 13th and 14th, the track is a Christmas song originally written and composed for the 1966 Dr. Seuss cartoon special “How The Grinch Stole Christmas!” The song was originally performed in the show by Thurl Ravenscroft, the lyrics were written by Theodor “Dr. Seuss” Geisel and the music was composed by Albert Hague.

The “Grinch” cover is a holiday treat from the band to radio, press and its fans as Red Wanting Blue gears up for the release of a new album From The Vanishing Point. The album – the first Red Wanting Blue has recorded for a label – will initially be supported by a two-month tour (see below for dates) bookended by an upcoming appearance this Saturday in Philadelphia at World Café Live with Carbon Leaf and several appearances on the 12th annual voyage of The Rock Boat leaving New Orleans bound for Cozumel, Mexico on March 1st. Red Wanting Blue also returns to its stronghold of Cleveland, Ohio to headline the House of Blues on February 4th.

From The Vanishing Point will be released by Fanatic Records (distributed by EMI/Caroline) on January 10th, 2012. To appease its fans, Red Wanting Blue posted a Soundcloud stream of the album on October 13th which to date has netted over 100,000 track plays. The album’s first single “Audition” is at radio now and will soon be followed by an official music video shot live by eight cameras at a hometown show in Columbus, Ohio in front of nearly 1000 fans.

Red Wanting Blue
From The Vanishing Point
(Fanatic Records – Jan. 10th, 2012)
Track Listing:

01. Stay On The Bright Side

02. Audition

03. White Snow

04. Playlist

05. Love Remains

06. Cocaine

07. Walking Shoes

08. Dinosaur

09. Running of The Bulls

10 Ballad of Nobodies

11. Hope On A Rope

12. Pour It Out

13. My Name Is Death (Bonus Track)

No comments: