Wednesday, June 27, 2007

AFM Diversity Award recipients honored

At its 97th convention held June 18-20, the American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada (AFM), AFL-CIO honored the recipients of the second annual “AFM Diversity Awards,” recognizing outstanding accomplishment in the promotion and celebration of diversity within the music industry.

“The AFM is an organization that celebrates its varied and diverse membership,” said AFM President Thomas F. Lee. “I commend AFM Local 65-699 (Houston, Texas), Tyrone Martin Jr., (Local 101-473, Dayton, Ohio) and Dr. Fred Wheatt (Local 4, Cleveland, Ohio) for being selected as winners of the 2007 AFM Diversity Awards. The strength of our international union lies in the diversity, dedication and talent of our membership, and these awards are a step towards recognizing our members for their excellent contributions and achievements.”

AFM Diversity Committee Chair Otis Ducker said awards were given in three categories: the AFM President’s Local Union Award; the President’s Youth Award for individuals under the age of 35; and the Charles Walton Diversity Advocate Award for outstanding achievement by an individual in the promotion of diversity within the union and the community.

All winners were awarded a commemorative hand-carved trophy; the Youth Award winner also received a $2,000 scholarship.

Below is a list of winners, as well as the complete list of semi-finalists:

2007 AFM Diversity Award Winners

AFM President’s Local Award --
Houston Professional Musicians’ Association, Local 65-699

AFM President’s Youth Award --
Tyrone Martin Jr., Dayton Musicians Association, Local 101-473

AFM Charles Walton Diversity Advocate Award --
Dr. Fred Wheatt, Cleveland Federation of Musicians, Local 4

2007 Semi-Finalists

AFM President’s Local Award:

Lehigh Valley Musicians’ Association
Local 45
AFM President’s Local Award

AFM President’s Youth Award:

John W. Luckenbill, III
Local 399
AFM President’s Youth Award

Tony Lannen
Local 5
AFM President’s Youth Award

Eddie Yakkel
Local 433
AFM President’s Youth Award

Raphael Price
Local 47
AFM President’s Youth Award

David Brady
Local 8
AFM President’s Youth Award

Nathan Cepelinski
Local 180
AFM President’s Youth Award

AFM Charles Walton Diversity Advocate Award:

Gordon Stump
Local 5
AFM Charles Walton Diversity Advocate Award

Chris Kalogerson
Local 30-73
AFM Charles Walton Diversity Advocate Award

Ella Jenkins
Local 10-208
AFM Charles Walton Diversity Advocate Award

Deborah Wells
Local 389
AFM Charles Walton Diversity Advocate Award

Archie Alleyne
Local 149
AFM Charles Walton Diversity Advocate Award

Founded in 1896, the American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada (AFM) is the largest organization in the world dedicated to representing the interests of professional musicians. With more than 90,000 members, the AFM represents all types of professional musicians, including those who record music for sound recordings, film scores, radio, television and commercial announcements, as well as perform music of every genre in every sort of venue from small jazz clubs to symphony orchestra halls to major stadiums. Whether negotiating fair agreements, protecting ownership of recorded music, securing benefits such as health care and pension, or lobbying legislators, the AFM is committed to raising industry standards and placing the professional musician in the foreground of the cultural landscape.

International President Thomas F. Lee was re-elected at this convention to serve a three-year term. He has led the AFM since his election in June 2001.

No comments: